The Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch 2009

Our third annual APRS Sound Fellowship Lunch and awards ceremony was held on Tuesday 17 November 2009 and attracted top names to west London’s Roof Gardens venue in Kensington, including first-time appearances by Peter Gabriel and Trevor Horn.

The Sound Fellowship Awards were inaugurated in 2007 to mark the 60th Anniversary of the APRS and to recognise excellence and achievement within the recording industry.

Sir George and Giles Martin bestowed the awards in an atmosphere of conviviality and pride, while Jeremy Lascelles of Chrysalis Music followed his keynote speech by proposing the Harewood Toast in honour of his father and original APRS president, the Earl of Harewood.

Awards were bestowed on engineer Bob Clearmountain, producer Steve Lillywhite, innovaator and manufacturer Phil Dudderidge, Peter Gabriel and producers Trevor Horn and Robin Millar.

In response to a citation by Rupert Hine, Robin Millar was in eloquent form as he outlined his raison d’etre in the studio, while video messages of thanks were sent by absentee Fellows, Bob Clearmountain, Steve Lillywhite and Focusrite’s Phil Dudderidge.

Dave Harries, the veteran of Abbey Road, Air, Decca and British Grove Studios received the Lifetime Contribution honour and was hailed as “a very great friend” by Sir George Martin.

People tend to forget the fact that the studios make 90% of the catalogue material that keeps the music business afloat,” commented APRS Executive Director, Peter Filleul. “We are seeing a fresh realisation of the value of the professional recording sector having the skills, expertise and equipment to produce consistently top quality recordings. Our recipients this year are testament not only to production creativity but also their entrepreneurial courage and commitment to technological and commercial innovation.”

The APRS is extremely grateful to the following sponsors of this year's event:

 avidlogo.jpg euphonix_logo.jpg
 fxgroup_logo.gif fxpansion_logo.gif

Our Masters of Ceremony for the event -
David Hamilton-Smith and Peter Filleul

Jeremey Lascelles proposes the Harewood Toast
Bob Clearmountain
Steve Lillywhite

Phil Dudderidge

Peter Gabriel receives his award
from Sir George Martin

Trevor Horn

fellowship-2009-08-rh.jpgRupert Hine cites Robin Millar
for a Sound Fellowship Award

fellowship-2009-09-rm.jpgRobin Millar
Dave Harries, after receiving his Lifetime Contribution Award from Sir George Martin and Ken Townsend

Peter Filleul tickles the ivories

fellowship-2009-13-rm-th.jpgRobin Millar and Trevor Horn
fellowship-2009-12-pg-sl.jpgPeter Gabriel and Steve Levine

Please click here to hear our audio recording of the award presentations

Photos by Gilead Limor
Recording by Gilead Limor and Tim Keep
Editing and web presentation by Mike Brown

© APRS, 2010
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management